

April 28, 2021 AGENDA ITEM #2

Discuss and consider recognition of former Executive Director of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority Michael Heiligenstein

Strategic Plan Relevance:	Regional Mobility
Department:	N/A
Contact:	Bill Chapman, Interim Executive Director & Chief Financial Officer
Associated Costs:	N/A
Funding Source:	N/A
Action Requested:	Consider and act on draft resolution

<u>Project Description/Background</u>: Recognize former CTRMA Executive Director Mike Heiligenstein for his public service to the community of Central Texas.

Previous Actions & Brief History of the Program/Project: N/A

Financing: N/A

Action requested/Staff Recommendation: Accept the draft resolution.

Backup provided: Draft Resolution

GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE CENTRAL TEXAS REGIONAL MOBILITY AUTHORITY

RESOLUTION NO. 21-0XX

HONORING MIKE HEILIGENSTEIN, FOUNDING EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE MOBILITY AUTHORITY AND ARCHITECT OF THE AUTHORITY'S RAPID RISE FROM UPSTART AGENCY TO DYNAMIC INDUSTRY POWERHOUSE

WHEREAS, the Mobility Authority was created by Travis and Williamson counties in 2002 to improve the transportation system with a mission to implement innovative, multi-modal transportation solutions that enhance the quality of life and economic opportunity for all Central Texans; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors named Mike Heiligenstein as the Mobility Authority's first Executive Director on Wednesday, November 5, 2003; and

WHEREAS, the Mobility Authority was a fledgling agency with limited funding and no staff when Mike Heiligenstein assumed the role of Executive Director; and

WHEREAS, the need for new roadway capacity in Central Texas was great and new roads and toll roads were controversial when Mike Heiligenstein was hired; and

WHEREAS, Mike Heiligenstein recruited a highly experienced team of staff and consultants, and assembled the partnerships necessary to rapidly finance, construct and operate the Mobility Authority's first toll road, 183A, which opened on March 7, 2007; and

WHEREAS, under Mike Heiligenstein' s leadership, the Mobility Authority in rapid succession extended 183A; and added 290 Toll, SH 71, MoPac Express Lane, 45SW and 183 Toll; and

WHEREAS, Mike Heiligenstein advanced the Phase 3 extension of 183A and the 183 North Mobility Project through the environmental process and into construction; and began critical environmental work on MoPac South and preliminary planning for a Phase 4 eastern extension of 290 Toll; and

WHEREAS, during his 17-year tenure, Mike Heiligenstein has overseen the implementation of \$3 billion of regionally significant new roadway capacity projects; and

WHEREAS, Mike Heiligenstein's drive to innovate led the Mobility Authority to become one of the first all-electronic cashless toll road operators in the United States and to implement the MoPac Express Lane, the first variably priced express lane facility in central Texas; and

WHEREAS, Mike Heiligenstein's dedication to enhancing the regional bicycle and pedestrian network led the Mobility Authority to build more than 80-miles of shared-use path, becoming a leading developer of these valuable transportation facilities; and

WHEREAS, quality of life, environmental sensitivity and economic opportunity are a driving force in every decision Mike Heiligenstein makes; and

WHEREAS, Mike Heiligenstein has devoted his entire career to serving the public, as a Round Rock City Councilman, as Williamson County Commissioner, and as Executive Director of the Mobility Authority.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mobility Authority Board of Directors hereby acknowledges and honors Mike Heiligenstein for his 17 years of devoted service and achievements to improve mobility and the quality of life for Central Texans; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED in recognition of Mike Heiligenstein's service, the Mobility Authority dedicates the 4.5-mile paved shared use path along the 45SW Toll Road in his honor

Adopted by the Board of Directors of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority on the 28th day of April 2021.

Submitted and reviewed by:

Approved:

C. Brian Cassidy, Counsel for the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority Robert W. Jenkins, Jr. Chairman, Board of Directors